author photo
Welcome to #TheBreakUpExpert by SJV
2021/05/19  |  By:   |  Features  |  

Sonya Singh’s warm and funny rom-com with a South Asian twist!

We are thrilled to let you know that @TeamBATC’s Molly Crawford has bought a new novel by Sonya Singh that will be perfect for fans of Laura Jane Williams, Mhairi McFarlane and anyone who loves a good rom-com on Netflix.

The Breakup Expert follows Manny in her search for a sense of self as a South Asian woman. It explores cultural identity whilst also delivering a fun and romantic story that readers will love to follow.

Manny is a high-flying CEO who runs a company that specialises in other people’s breakups. Happily engaged and often featured in the media she appears to have it all. But when she is photoshopped to look less Asian and her fiancé decries he doesn’t “see race” she decides it’s time to reconnect with her roots.

Deciding she needs to learn more about her community she convinces a client to take her to his brother’s big Indian wedding. When they arrive, Manny is instantly thrown into a celebration filled with fashion, food, dancing and family.

 There she discovers more than she could have ever dreamt of…

With an irresistible romance and a bold cast of characters, this is a book that’ll make you swoon, laugh long and hard and want nothing more than to dance at a wedding. It’s an utter joy to read – a fun and escapist rom-com with a great message about self-acceptance and identity.

Sonya says: “I have always wanted to write a rom-com with a strong South Asian female character. The idea for a breakup management agency came along the way as I started to research relationships online and ultimately how people coped with heartbreak or struggling to breakup with someone in this world of swipes and ghosting each other. Quite frankly, my personal life at the time also needed some comedic relief. Instead of sending desperate emails in hopes of rescuing a broken relationship,  I just poured my heart, humour, and, ultimately, my words into Manny and this book.”

We will be publishing in paperback, eBook and audio in March 2022 and we can’t wait to share this wonderful novel with you!

Comments

comments