The Bookshop of Second Chances announcement - Twitter
The Bookshop of Second Chances by Jackie Fraser
2020/05/01  |  By:   |  Features  |  

We are DELIGHTED to announce that we bought not one, but TWO debut novels from our #DigitalOriginals #OneDay2019 open submissions day!

#OneDay2019 was full of so much writing talent that we ended up calling in more entries than ever before, and there were two very special stories that blew @TeamBATC away, and we can’t wait for you to read them.

First up… *drum roll*

INTRODUCING …

The Bookshop of Second Chances announcement - SquareThe Bookshop of Second Chances by Jackie Fraser

Set in a charming little Scottish town, The Bookshop of Second Chances by Jackie Fraser is a warm, escapist, funny and incredibly relatable novel about a woman looking to put her life back together after everything she has known for the last twenty years falls apart. Jackie impressed us all with her brilliant writing, witty commentary and characters and places so real that you’ll want to jump in a car and drive up to Scotland just to browse the antiquarian and second-hand titles sold at the novel’s Fortescue’s Books. It is a gorgeous story and the perfect romantic read!

An uplifting and enchanting story of fresh starts and new beginnings, perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Veronica Henry and Rachael Lucas.

Thea’s having a bad month. Not only has she been made redundant, she’s also discovered her husband of nearly twenty years is sleeping with one of her friends. And he’s not sorry – he’s leaving.

Bewildered and lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But when she learns that the great-uncle she barely knew has died and left her his huge collection of second-hand books and a house in the Scottish Lowlands, she seems to have been offered a second chance.

Running away to a small town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what Thea needs. But when she meets the aristocratic Maltravers brothers – grumpy bookshop owner Edward and his estranged brother Charles, Lord Hollinshaw – her new life quickly becomes just as complicated as the life she was running from…

 

We all absolutely fell in love with the novel, and the author, right from the start, and we can’t wait to publish in eBook first on 17th November. The Bookshop of Second Chances is available now for pre-order.

And here’s a word from Jackie herself…

Jackie Fraser author photo (new)300I started writing The Bookshop of Second Chances when I was on holiday a couple of years ago, inspired by the landscape and the small towns of Dumfries and Galloway. I happened to see the announcement of #OneDay2019 on the actual day itself, and, spurred into action by a very tight deadline, submitted my first chapter. I was thrilled when they asked me to send the rest of the book and pretty much astounded when they said they wanted to publish it. I absolutely loved writing about Thea and her adventures, and I hope you enjoy reading about them.

Love

Jackie xx

Comments

comments