bookclub
#bookclub Feature by SJV
2018/06/01  |  By:   |  Features  |  

Make or Break 2

This week on #BookClub we have some fabulous reviews, endorsements and quotes for the brand new novel by #DigitalOriginals superstar Catherine BennettoMake or Break - out in paperback on 12th July!

Romantic comedy with heart, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi Macfarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

Jess, a 29-year-old Londoner with a Kate Beckett fringe and a tendency for dramatics, gets taken on a surprise trip by her long-term boyfriend, Pete, to attend her best friend’s last minute wedding in South Africa. Jess imagines sun, sand, wine and safaris. And returning to London with an ethically mined diamond on her left hand…

But this holiday isn’t set to be quite the fairy tale Jess has planned… and suddenly she finds her world tilting on its axis. And things are only set to get worse when Jess returns home…

Catherine Bennetto is back with her trademark wit and an equally hilarious cast of characters who will have you rooting for them from the first page.

Make or Break 1

‘I love Catherine Bennetto’s writing. It’s laugh out loud funny and Make or Break is just as witty as How Not to Fall in Love Actually. I’m not normally a fan of so-called chick lit, but this kind of clever, sassy writing is reminiscent of Melissa Bank and Norah Ephron. Recommended.’

***** Sparky

‘Bennetto made me laugh out loud with her debut and has done it again with this one. It is witty, quick, pacey and full of the sharp-tongued humour that runs through all of her writing. Fantastic!’

***** Dawn

‘This is a perfect book to cheer you up on a dark day, filled with light wit. It’s very topical, with gentle mockery of things like clean-living trends, the genial chaos of family life and relationships in general…’

***** Alexandra Clare

‘Enjoyed this read. Funny but also warm and quirky. Look forward to her next one’

***** araminta9

‘What a page turner! Loved it! Got myself lost in the magic of Capetown, the author really captures the essence of the place, along with some funny, lovable characters!’

***** Rachel

‘Another awesome read by Catherine. Couldn’t put the book down – Literally!! – read entirely on one rainy sunday afternoon. I now also NEED to go to Cape Town!!’

***** Lucy

‘I absolutely loved Catherine Bennetto’s first novel, How not to Fall in Love, Actually, and enjoyed Make or Break just as much. No tricky second novel for this author. It’s a fab, witty plot with fun, likeable characters, loads of laugh out loud moments and an unexpected twist, which adds to its page turning quality. I was fighting sleep every night to keep reading, as I was desperate to find out what happened next, but then felt sad when I’d finished. Until I realised I could go back to the beginning and read it all over again! I urge you to read this novel. It’ll brighten your day and put a smile on your face.’

***** Kathleen Whyman

‘It was funny and in a wonderful setting. All the characters were brilliant and so real and quirky that one wants to meet them and become their friends. The heroine had crazy ideas and made me laugh and the hero was fantastic, one of those people you want in your life. Ultimately, it was very romantic.’

***** S. Callejo Paterson

‘Absolutely loved this as much as I loved Catherine Bennetto’s first book – How not to fall in love, actually. Her clever wit had me laughing throughout and I shall definitely be reading more by this author. If you’re in need of a book that’ll pick you up or even if you just want a laugh – pick this one. Highly recommended.’

***** Heidi

‘Classic hilarious Catherine Bennetto action here- I have always loved Sophie Kinsella, but this is way better in my opinion. It’s clever, witty, natural – I think it is very hard to be funny in an unforced fashion, and somehow I laughed throughout this book (and HOW NOT TO FALL IN LOVE) without feeling weird. She is my new fave author.’

***** Hudson1980

‘An author who takes a refreshing look at the world around her. This book is full of humour and entertained me for hours. But there is more to this book as the author tackles the difficult subject of trust, dealing with it with sensitivity and of course humour. I can recommend Make or Break as a well written funny book with delightful characters.’

***** Avid Reader

‘I loved this one just as much as Catherine Bennetto’s debut! After the first chapter, I was hooked – and don’t you love a book like that?! Hilarious doesn’t even begin to describe it. I was in fits of laughter. That, plus a few twists, turns and decidedly hot guys – how can you go wrong? READ IT.’

***** Sarah Bunker

‘Second book of Mrs.Bennetto and again brilliant company on my holiday just can’t wait for the next book just need to book my next holiday!!!’

***** Ania Horczyk

‘Charming, fun and a fab setting – loved it and would recommend.’

***** E. Daniels

‘Fantastic laugh out loud book. Perfect to put a smile on your face and found the characters really real and relatable. Fantastic second book from this great writter!’

***** Catherine Parlane

‘Another fabulous read from Cath! A total page turner that made two of my rainy days in Fiji really great days…looking forward to the next book!’

***** Bianka Chapman

‘Hilarious! Perfect for winter days/nights. Just watch who you share the couch with, as you won’t fail to laugh out loud!’

***** Kelly Scoles

Comments

comments