bookclub
#bookclub Feature by SJV
2018/06/01  |  By:   |  Features  |  

Make or Break 2

This week on #BookClub we have some fabulous reviews, endorsements and quotes for the new novel by #DigitalOriginals superstar Catherine BennettoMake or Break - out now in paperback!

Romantic comedy with heart, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Mhairi Macfarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

Jess, a 29-year-old Londoner with a Kate Beckett fringe and a tendency for dramatics, gets taken on a surprise trip by her long-term boyfriend, Pete, to attend her best friend’s last minute wedding in South Africa. Jess imagines sun, sand, wine and safaris. And returning to London with an ethically mined diamond on her left hand…

But this holiday isn’t set to be quite the fairy tale Jess has planned… and suddenly she finds her world tilting on its axis. And things are only set to get worse when Jess returns home…

Catherine Bennetto is back with her trademark wit and an equally hilarious cast of characters who will have you rooting for them from the first page.

Make or Break 1

KAISHA says:

“Ohhhhhh this book!!!! ‘Make or Break’ may be a fair size with approximately 480 odd pages, but it’s 480 pages of sheer gold. Not exaggerating in the slightest. I enjoyed Catherine Bennetto’s previous novel, but in all honesty, ‘Make or Break’ is my favourite one so far as the humour is AH-MAZE-ING! I flip-flopping LOVED this book!

‘Make or Break’ put a smile back on my face after a very difficult and stressful week. I loved how diverse the characters and situations were as it was like a breath of fresh air, seeming like the author had thought ‘stuff it, I’m writing it’. Honestly, I cannot fault this book at all. I am gutted it had to finish, but I have everything crossed that Catherine Bennetto is writing another novel as I type – I’m having withdrawal symptoms already.

Look, I loved it so much that I would quite happily re-read it multiple times, and I do not usually do that! You know the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow? That is filled with stars I would love to give this book, unfortunately retail sites will only accept five, but you can’t say that the thought wasn’t there. ‘Make or Break’ is truly a fabulous, free-spirited, addictive, laugh-out-loud read that will make you feel as though you have won the lottery ten times over.”

Make or Break Blog Tour Banner - FINAL

“Oh this book had me laughing out loud just as much as Catherine Bennetto’s last novel, it was so funny and so relatable and just such a great read to cheer me up and entertain! Oh my goodness there were so many twists and turns in this novel I really felt for poor Jess and everything that life was throwing at her, but at the same time, some of those twists turned out to be so entertaining and have such comedy value, it was just hilarious!

Jess was a great character to spend time with and I really felt like the story was being told to me by her as she was recounting it via tweets and texts, even though that’s totally not how the book is written, just because I felt like we were friends and I was really hoping that everything would turn out alright for her in the end. Sometimes Jess just can’t seem to see what’s happening right in front of her and other times I was just so proud of how maturely she handled some of the situations that she was faced with,. I loved the family values that she had and what a loyal friend she was. She was just a lovely character who you definitely want the best for.

There are definitely a couple of other characters in this novel who you will love to hate, and possibly will even boo when they appear on the page and then, to balance that out, there are a couple more who you will fall in love, or at lest in love with and will possibly eve cheer when they appear on the page, the novel is well cast!

I loved the fact that a lot of this book is set in South Africa because Jess is right out of her comfort zone – it’s a beautiful city but also a city with a lot of potential dangers, so many storyline possibilities therefore. I enjoyed reading about the city and about how Jess handles it all.

There is definitely a very strong message of family in this novel too and I loved getting to know how Jess’s family ticks and the way they all look our for one another. There’s a very positive message of love and respect here and I really enjoyed spending time in this family and friendship group. This was just a really well-rounded, standalone novel that you should definitely invest in to keep you entertained whatever you’re doing with your summer!”

***** Catriona

“I really liked the author’s debut novel, so I was really looking forward to this and wasn’t disappointed. The characters are engaging and colourful and I really liked Jess. She is funny, caring, down-to-earth and never stops talking. She gets herself in embarrassing and hilarious situations that made me laugh-out-loud many times. The plot is entertaining and captivating, there is never a dull moment. Highly recommended for those looking for a funny read.

***** Noemi

‘I love Catherine Bennetto’s writing. It’s laugh out loud funny and Make or Break is just as witty as How Not to Fall in Love Actually. I’m not normally a fan of so-called chick lit, but this kind of clever, sassy writing is reminiscent of Melissa Bank and Norah Ephron. Recommended.’

***** Sparky

‘Bennetto made me laugh out loud with her debut and has done it again with this one. It is witty, quick, pacey and full of the sharp-tongued humour that runs through all of her writing. Fantastic!’

***** Dawn

‘This is a perfect book to cheer you up on a dark day, filled with light wit. It’s very topical, with gentle mockery of things like clean-living trends, the genial chaos of family life and relationships in general…’

***** Alexandra Clare

‘Enjoyed this read. Funny but also warm and quirky. Look forward to her next one’

***** araminta9

‘What a page turner! Loved it! Got myself lost in the magic of Capetown, the author really captures the essence of the place, along with some funny, lovable characters!’

***** Rachel

‘Another awesome read by Catherine. Couldn’t put the book down – Literally!! – read entirely on one rainy sunday afternoon. I now also NEED to go to Cape Town!!’

***** Lucy

‘I absolutely loved Catherine Bennetto’s first novel, How not to Fall in Love, Actually, and enjoyed Make or Break just as much. No tricky second novel for this author. It’s a fab, witty plot with fun, likeable characters, loads of laugh out loud moments and an unexpected twist, which adds to its page turning quality. I was fighting sleep every night to keep reading, as I was desperate to find out what happened next, but then felt sad when I’d finished. Until I realised I could go back to the beginning and read it all over again! I urge you to read this novel. It’ll brighten your day and put a smile on your face.’

***** Kathleen Whyman

‘It was funny and in a wonderful setting. All the characters were brilliant and so real and quirky that one wants to meet them and become their friends. The heroine had crazy ideas and made me laugh and the hero was fantastic, one of those people you want in your life. Ultimately, it was very romantic.’

***** S. Callejo Paterson

‘Absolutely loved this as much as I loved Catherine Bennetto’s first book – How not to fall in love, actually. Her clever wit had me laughing throughout and I shall definitely be reading more by this author. If you’re in need of a book that’ll pick you up or even if you just want a laugh – pick this one. Highly recommended.’

***** Heidi

‘Classic hilarious Catherine Bennetto action here- I have always loved Sophie Kinsella, but this is way better in my opinion. It’s clever, witty, natural – I think it is very hard to be funny in an unforced fashion, and somehow I laughed throughout this book (and HOW NOT TO FALL IN LOVE) without feeling weird. She is my new fave author.’

***** Hudson1980

‘An author who takes a refreshing look at the world around her. This book is full of humour and entertained me for hours. But there is more to this book as the author tackles the difficult subject of trust, dealing with it with sensitivity and of course humour. I can recommend Make or Break as a well written funny book with delightful characters.’

***** Avid Reader

‘I loved this one just as much as Catherine Bennetto’s debut! After the first chapter, I was hooked – and don’t you love a book like that?! Hilarious doesn’t even begin to describe it. I was in fits of laughter. That, plus a few twists, turns and decidedly hot guys – how can you go wrong? READ IT.’

***** Sarah Bunker

‘Second book of Mrs.Bennetto and again brilliant company on my holiday just can’t wait for the next book just need to book my next holiday!!!’

***** Ania Horczyk

‘Charming, fun and a fab setting – loved it and would recommend.’

***** E. Daniels

‘Fantastic laugh out loud book. Perfect to put a smile on your face and found the characters really real and relatable. Fantastic second book from this great writter!’

***** Catherine Parlane

‘Another fabulous read from Cath! A total page turner that made two of my rainy days in Fiji really great days…looking forward to the next book!’

***** Bianka Chapman

‘Hilarious! Perfect for winter days/nights. Just watch who you share the couch with, as you won’t fail to laugh out loud!’

***** Kelly Scoles

Comments

comments