The Beginners Guide To Loneliness announcement - Twitter
The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness by Laura Bambrey
2020/05/12  |  By:   |  Features  |  

As you will have read, we bought not one, but TWO debut novels from our #DigitalOriginals #OneDay2019 open submissions day… so it’s with huge excitement that we can now proudly introduce you to the second…

*drum roll*

INTRODUCING . . .

The Beginners Guide To Loneliness announcement - SquareThe Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness by Laura Bambrey

The second book that made us – literally – jump for joy when we first read it is Laura Bambrey’s fantastic debut novel, The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness. Laura’s is a life-affirming, warm-hearted and utterly hilarious read about learning to look after yourself and opening up to new opportunities. It’s a novel about friendship, wellbeing, and self-discovery, topped off with a hint of romance! We’ve all felt lonely at one point or another, and that’s okay – this is a novel that celebrates our flaws and teaches us to love who we are. It will not disappoint!

The perfect feel-good read from an exciting new voice in women’s fiction, for fans of Heidi Swain, Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan.

Tori Williamson is alone. After a tragic event left her isolated from her loved ones, she’s been struggling to find her way back to, well – herself. That’s why she set up her blog, The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness, as a way of – anonymously – connecting with the outside world and reaching others who just need a little help sometimes.

When she’s offered a free spot on a wellbeing retreat in exchange for a review on her blog, Tori is anxious about opening herself up to new surroundings. But after her three closest friends – who she talks to online but has never actually met – convince her it’ll do her some good, she reluctantly agrees and heads off for three weeks in the wild (well, a farm in Wales).

From the moment she arrives, Tori is sceptical and quickly finds herself drawn to fellow sceptic Than, the retreat’s dark and mysterious latecomer. But as the beauty of The Farm slowly comes to light she realizes that opening herself up might not be the worst thing. And sharing a yurt with fellow retreater Bay definitely isn’t.

Will the retreat be able to fix Tori? Or will she finally learn that being lonely doesn’t mean she’s broken . . .

Welcome to The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness! Where you can learn to move mountains by picking up the smallest of stones…

The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness publishes in eBook first edition on 28th July and is available to pre-order now, and here is Laura to tell you a little more…

Laura Bambrey Author PicThe Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness is a love letter to anyone who has ever struggled with loneliness or anxiety. My heroine, Tori, has been pottering around my head for almost a decade, but she took quite a long time to tell me the details of her story. It was early 2019 when I finally sat down to write what was to become The Beginner’s Guide To Loneliness. Tori slowly started to open up – though there were plenty of surprises from the supporting characters along the way!

I was only half way through when I entered the #DigitalOriginals #OneDay open submission in July 2019, and when Sara-Jade and the team requested to see the rest of the manuscript, I had to beg an extra 6 weeks to complete the draft. After a life-changing visit to the S&S offices, I embarked on a round of edits in the hands of the amazing team at Books and the City. I’m so excited to be working with them - Tori couldn’t have found a better home.

Love,

Laura xx

Comments

comments