The Beginners Guide To Loneliness - Out Now Twitter
The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness by Laura Bambrey
2020/05/12  |  By:   |  Features  |  

As you will have read, we bought not one, but TWO debut novels from our #DigitalOriginals #OneDay2019 open submissions day… so it’s with huge excitement that we can now proudly introduce you to the second…

*drum roll*

INTRODUCING . . .

The Beginners Guide To Loneliness - Out Now SquareThe Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness by Laura Bambrey

The second book that made us – literally – jump for joy when we first read it is Laura Bambrey’s fantastic debut novel, The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness. Laura’s is a life-affirming, warm-hearted and utterly hilarious read about learning to look after yourself and opening up to new opportunities. It’s a novel about friendship, wellbeing, and self-discovery, topped off with a hint of romance! We’ve all felt lonely at one point or another, and that’s okay – this is a novel that celebrates our flaws and teaches us to love who we are. It will not disappoint!

The perfect feel-good read from an exciting new voice in women’s fiction, for fans of Heidi Swain, Cathy Bramley and Jenny Colgan.

Tori Williamson is alone. After a tragic event left her isolated from her loved ones, she’s been struggling to find her way back to, well – herself. That’s why she set up her blog, The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness, as a way of – anonymously – connecting with the outside world and reaching others who just need a little help sometimes.

When she’s offered a free spot on a wellbeing retreat in exchange for a review on her blog, Tori is anxious about opening herself up to new surroundings. But after her three closest friends – who she talks to online but has never actually met – convince her it’ll do her some good, she reluctantly agrees and heads off for three weeks in the wild (well, a farm in Wales).

From the moment she arrives, Tori is sceptical and quickly finds herself drawn to fellow sceptic Than, the retreat’s dark and mysterious latecomer. But as the beauty of The Farm slowly comes to light she realizes that opening herself up might not be the worst thing. And sharing a yurt with fellow retreater Bay definitely isn’t.

Will the retreat be able to fix Tori? Or will she finally learn that being lonely doesn’t mean she’s broken . . .

Welcome to The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness! Where you can learn to move mountains by picking up the smallest of stones…

’Sweet, funny, engaging – and underneath the sparkle really rather wise. The perfect tonic for our times.’ VERONICA HENRY, Sunday Times bestselling author of A Wedding at the Beach Hut

‘A  total hug in book form. Warm-hearted, honest and touching, it’s a beautiful story of love and friendship. I loved it!’ MIRANDA DICKINSON, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Day We Meet Again

‘I LOVED it!’ HEIDI SWAIN, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Secret Seaside Escape

‘What a read – rollicking fun and emotionally satisfying!’  MICHELE GORMAN, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Curvy Girls Club

‘This book will leave you with a big smile’ MANDY BAGGOT, bestselling author of My Greek Island Summer

‘An absolute delight!’
JUDY ASTLEY, bestselling author of It Must Have Been the Mistletoe

‘Although it’s a love story, it’s even more a tale of friendship – not just being a friend, but accepting friendship from others, which can be just as difficult . . . I recommend it most highly as a beautifully written guide as to how we should live our lives’ T.A. WILLIAMS, author of Dreaming of Italy

Genuinely moving, beautifully told and really funny!’ CHRISTINA PISHIRIS, author of Love Songs for Sceptics

‘Getting drawn into the pages of The Beginners Guide to Loneliness is like being drawn into a big soothing hug, right when you need it. Full of warmth, depth and unexpected turns, plus a cast of characters I wish I knew in real life, Laura Bambrey has written a beautiful debut.’ LISA DICKENS, author of The Broken Hearts Honeymoon

‘An utterly beautiful story about friendship, healing and love. I adored this moving debut novel’ DARCIE BOLEYN, author of The Cottage at Plum Tree Bay

‘Funny, warm and brilliantly uplifting’ CLAIRE FROST, author of Living My Best Life

‘I absolutely devoured this wonderful story of friendship, romance and learning to love yourself. It was touching, funny and an utterly fabulous read’ HOLLY MARTIN, author of Sunrise Over Sapphire Bay

‘This book was beautiful, funny and uplifting. Everything for me that a book should be. A fabulous debut novel.’ KIM NASH, author of Sunshine and Second Chances

 

Karen says ‘Such a thought provoking and touching story.’ Read her full review here, and an Author Guest Post Karen hosted on her blog here.

Reviewer685478 says ‘I would recommend this book 100%, and I look forward to reading more of Laura Bambrey’s books in the future’

Rea says ‘I would definitely recommend this novel if you are looking for a motivational, life affirming fictional read with the workings of friendships and the blossoming of romance to keep you gripped until the very end’ Read her full review here.

Laura L says ‘The Beginner’s Guide To Loneliness is EVERYTHING I wanted and more. It is a sensitive, heartwarming, beautiful story about one woman and her journey of self-discovery.’ Read her full review here.

Hayley says ‘Laura has covered a real and quite frankly scary topic and she’s done it with grace, emotion and humour. I truly believe that The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness is an extremely important read about the good and bad aspects of opening up, listening to our instincts and who we trust, as well as how we use the Internet.’ Read her full review here.

Kelly says ‘I found Tori a believable, relatable and loveable character that I was cheering for from the start. There is so much warmth and hope in this book that makes it such a feel-good and heart-warming story.’ Read her full review here.

‘I recommend it most highly as a beautifully-written guide as to how we should live our lives.’ Amazon review

‘A beautifully written book. The characters draw you in immediately and you soon become invested in their well-being and journey’s. A couple of twists and turns make it impossible to put down’ Lynnie09

‘The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness’ is an utterly beautiful story about friendship, healing and love. Laura Bambrey’s characters are vividly portrayed and the story is beautifully written. I adored this moving debut novel and thoroughly recommend it!’ Darcie

‘Uplifting, heartwarming story from start to finish’ Sophie

‘A touching, beautifully written debut novel’ Amazon review

‘Such a wonderful debut novel… I absolutely loved it’ Janet

The Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness  is out now in eBook first edition. Here is Laura to tell you a little more…

Laura Bambrey Author PicThe Beginner’s Guide to Loneliness is a love letter to anyone who has ever struggled with loneliness or anxiety. My heroine, Tori, has been pottering around my head for almost a decade, but she took quite a long time to tell me the details of her story. It was early 2019 when I finally sat down to write what was to become The Beginner’s Guide To Loneliness. Tori slowly started to open up – though there were plenty of surprises from the supporting characters along the way!

I was only half way through when I entered the #DigitalOriginals #OneDay open submission in July 2019, and when Sara-Jade and the team requested to see the rest of the manuscript, I had to beg an extra 6 weeks to complete the draft. After a life-changing visit to the S&S offices, I embarked on a round of edits in the hands of the amazing team at Books and the City. I’m so excited to be working with them - Tori couldn’t have found a better home.

Love,

Laura xx

The Beginner's Guide To Loneliness Mini Blog Tour

Comments

comments